Right-hander Besecker sees change in baseball trajectory

By STEVE KRAH

http://www.IndianaRBI.com

Nic Besecker took a non-traditional path to college baseball.

He did not play much travel baseball, graduated from New Castle (Ind.) High School in 2020 (the season taken away by the COVID-19 pandemic) and went to Virginia Military Institute.

He got through the off-the-field training, got the virus and got down to 140 pounds (from 160) during the Rat Line” — essentially basic training with school on top of it — his freshman year.

“It wasn’t what I expected,” says Besecker. “I finished the year out.

“It was the toughest thing I’ve ever had to do in my life. I’m very proud I stuck that out.”

Besecker tossed three inning for the Keydets in the spring of 2021.

He transferred to Allen Community College in Iola, Kan., but a shoulder injury kept him out for the 2022 season.

Besecker did his rehabilitation at Pro-X Athlete in Westfield, Ind.

“Those guys did a phenomenal job,” says Besecker. “They got me back stronger than I ever was.”

In 2023, he made 14 mound appearances (12 out of the bullpen) for the Red Devils with one victory, 52 strikeouts and 24 walks in 48 2/3 innings.

“I like to tinker,” says Besecker. “I got pretty left of center.”

That being said, Besecker loved the team environment at Allen.

“It’s the best thing I’ve ever done for my soul,” says Besecker. “It was a peaceful place and there wasn’t anything to do but play baseball.

“I ended up making some of the best friends of my life and I got a girlfriend out there.

“It’s a very special place to me.”

Out of junior college eligibility, Besecker is in the Transfer Portal.

“We’re looking for a home,” says Besecker, a 6-foot, 195-pounder who switched from a Business to Communication major. “From a metrics standpoint I’m throwing harder than I ever did and my stuff is better than it ever was because I’m getting older and I understand the game a lot better.

“I should be talking to some mid-majors right now. That could be my ego talking.”

Though he could have played summer ball, Besecker has opted to train five days a week at PRP Baseball in Noblesville, Ind., working with Luke Jaksich.

“I’m learning so much,” says Besecker, 21. “I’ve been grinding my butt off. I’m going to try to push the velocity up as much as I can because I have a pretty good understanding of how to pitch and see where that takes us.

“I’m more motivated than ever.”

Throwing from an arm slot between three-quarter overhand and over-the-top, Besecker delivers a four-seam fastball, slider, change-up and curveball.

His four-seamer touched 91 mph in the fall and spring at Allen.

The slider is a horizontal pitch.

“They call it a sweeper now,” says Besecker. “It does not have much depth but up to 24 inches of sweep.”

His “split” change has enough depth to get under a bat.

His 12-to-6 curve has a little right-to-left movement.

“It pairs so well with my fastball,” says Besecker.

His journey since high school has been full of emotions and a true learning experience.

“I’ve got a chance to see every single walk of life and I’ve got to see it in a short time span,” says Besecker. “It’s been a roller-coaster for sure.”

Nic Besecker. (Allen Community College Photo)
Nic Besecker. (Grace Rich Photo)

Leave a comment